Skip to main content

Lac Ste. Anne County has long recognized the need to move toward a consolidated and regionalized wastewater system along its abundant lakes and larger regional water network. Regional systems assist with environmental concerns and help participating municipalities mitigate growing concerns about the financial viability of a wastewater system.

The official ribbon cutting ceremony for the North 43 Forcemain was held July 7, 2018. The newly operational Gunn Forcemain is a continuation of the vital infrastructure expansion to ensure sewage is safely collected and conveyed to the lagoon to mitigate water pollution, thus protecting public health and aquatic life.

To commemorate this, elected officials, CAO’s, and representatives of the Summer Villages of Castle Island, Ross Haven and Yellowstone, Lac Ste. Anne County, Stantec Consulting Ltd and Tyschuk Construction Ltd gathered on Monday, February 6 at the Gunn Community Hall in celebration of everyone's collaborative efforts. Also on hand was Shane Getson, MLA Lac Ste. Anne-Parkland.

Taking turns at the microphone, municipal leaders and commission members alike spoke to the benefits and the responsibility of this milestone – including the many years of careful planning and collaboration to get to this point. MLA Getson remarked “These are legacy projects allowing for growth regionally and responsibly.”

The Board of Directors for the North 43 Lagoon Commission is comprised of Council members from Lac Ste. Anne County and the Summer Villages of Castle Island, Ross Haven and Yellowstone. This Commission was established to manage the operation and maintenance of a sewage lagoon north of Lac Ste. Anne Lake. The Commission meets every second month to oversee the maintenance and operation of the lagoon. Although the directors report back to each respective Council, the Commission is empowered to operate with autonomy. Making decisions regarding the lagoon’s management that are independent of any of the municipalities represented. Board members include Chairperson Lorne Olsvik, Vice Chair Ian Kupchenko, Dieter Brandt, Don Bauer and George Vaughan.

County Connect

Is flooded fenceline 01

Register to be notified of fire bans, service interruptions and other important local alerts.

Media Releases

Review formal statements on matters that impact Lac Ste. Anne County and its citizens.

to Top