Skip to main content

Lac Ste. Anne County Fire Services gathered for their annual awards celebration at Cherhill Community Hall. Chief Randy Schroeder emceed the occasion.

"The people assembled in this room are by all accounts the best of the best.  You represent the best of what being human has to offer. The very best in ideals, the very best in what it takes."
Fire Chief Randy Schroeder
County Fire Services Awards

Following are the medals, awards and special presentations bestowed throughout the evening:

Medal Presentation:

  • 12 Yr Alberta Emergency Services Medal – Lieutenant Keith Barteski          

Alberta Emergency Services Medal is awarded to individuals who serve in Alberta and are members of the Fire Service, EMS, Dispatchers, Police Officer, Search and Rescue, Emergency Management Agencies, Correction Officers, Peace Officers.  Medal eligibility is for 12 years of service, (does not have to be continuous, provided all years served are after January 1, 2000).  Bronze Bar 22 Years, Silver Bar 32 Years, Gold Bar 40 Years.         

Awards Presentation:

  • 5 or 5+ Years of Service to Lac Ste Anne County – Firefighter Josh Surette – East Station
  • 10 or 10+ Years of Service to Lac Ste. Anne County – Firefighter Calvin Moon – Station 7

Firefighters who serve 5, 10, 15, or 20 years in good standing with Lac Ste. Anne County Fire Services receive a plaque.

Station Awards:

Rookie of the Year

  • Firefighter Stephen Lyons – Station 3 2023
  • Firefighter Kris Bautista – East Station 2023
  • Firefighter Robert Davies – Station 5 2023
  • Firefighter Katelyn Poersch – Station 7 2023

Awarded to the top Recruit in all Stations, for outstanding work and commitment to serve.  To be eligible, must be less then 1 year.  Candidates are voted by the officer of the Station.

Firefighter of the Year

  • Firefighter Chris White – Station 3 2023
  • Firefighter Adam Kopf – East Station 2023
  • Firefighter Tina Hauch – Station 4 2023
  • Firefighter Braden Skousbol – Station 5  2023
  • Firefighter Daniel Wegewitz – Station 7 2023

Awarded to any eligible active Firefighter from each Station (recruits are exempt) as voted on by the firefighters/officers from each Station. This firefighter exemplifies the meaning of volunteering, work ethic, drive, determination, commitment, and sacrifice. This firefighter goes above and beyond to support the mission of the fire service providing support to the station, and in the community.

Please note: Station 6 Mayerthorpe awards recipients will be handed out at the Mayerthorpe Fireman’s Ball on October 14 at the Mayerthorpe Diamond Centre.

Special Presentations:

Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Medal Recipients

  • Chief Schroeder – Nominated by the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs, for Leadership, and advocacy with the Alberta Fire Chiefs Association.
  • District Chief Gifford – Nominated by the Community of Sangudo, through the Alberta Fire Chiefs Association for outstanding contributions.
  • Chaplain Chris White – Nominated by the Alberta Fire Chiefs Association for the creation and leadership of the Alberta Fire Chaplains Association.
  • Chaplain/Lt Arnold Lotholz – Nominated by Mayerthorpe Legion #26, along with Ruth Lotholz for outstanding contributions to veterans and support of the Legion!

Stair Climbers! – Firefighter Stair Climb Challenge – Team Lac Ste. Anne County Fire Services! Fundraising for Wellspring Alberta

  • Braden Skousbol – 16:32 good for top 100 finish, time to beat 11:19
  • Josh Surrette – 22:32 good for 270th
  • Recruit Chelsea Emms – 23:24 good for 293rd
  • Chaplain Chris White – 24:33 good for 314th

We all know firefighting is a dangerous occupation, but did you know there are 20 presumptive cancers recognized as occupational hazards related to firefighting?

This event spotlights firefighters and underscores the risks they take every day when they train and respond. Proceeds form this event ensure Wellspring Alberta can provide programs and services to firefighters and all citizens living with cancer. Wellspring Alberta is a registered charity offering free programs and services that meet the emotional, social and practical needs of people living with cancer – those diagnosed, caregivers and kids.

Our team raised $2275 towards this year’s event total of $299,025.00.


  • Cadet Kaylee McCoy
  • Recruit Braden Skousbol
  • Recruit Erica Lonsdale
  • Recruit Stephen Lyons
  • Firefighter Charlene Borle
  • Firefighter Chris White
  • Firefighter Melinda Pardy
  • Firefighter Sean Smith
  • Firefighter Josh Surette

On behalf of Lac Ste. Anne County Council and Administration, we thank not only these award recipients, but all our Firefighters. Their selfless dedication forms the heart of this vital group who work tirelessly to serve the needs of our community.

If you know someone who would like to find out more about becoming a firefighter, we invite you to take the first step. Check out details online at

County Connect

Is flooded fenceline 01

Register to be notified of fire bans, service interruptions and other important local alerts.

Media Releases

Review formal statements on matters that impact Lac Ste. Anne County and its citizens.

to Top