Physician Recruitment Committee

Attracting Vital Talent and Technology

Beginning late 2009, the Committee has been working to ensure that adequate physician and supporting services will be available in Onoway and the surrounding area. The financial resources needed to support these initiatives have been committed by the local municipalities. The committee is currently focused on getting the x-ray services functioning again at the local clinic. These services are an integral part of the success of the existing clinic.

Why is the Committee Doing This?

While providing health care is a Provincial responsibility, in recent years it has been left to municipalities to ensure that the support required to keep physicians in a community is in place. In a majority of cases financial incentives are involved, however the efforts are focused on ensuring that a physician feels welcome in the community.

What Can You Do?

As a resident of the local community you can help in this initiative by continuing to use the services provided in Onoway, either at the Onoway Medical Clinic or at the Onoway Lab Facility. Ensuring these facilities continue to maintain business levels will help to maintain the attractiveness of the community as a whole.

Who Does the Committee Represent?

The Lac Ste. Anne Physician Recruitment Committee includes members representing Lac Ste. Anne County, the Town of Onoway, and the Village of Alberta Beach along with 11 Summer Villages - Birch Cove, Castle Island, Nakamun Park, Ross Haven, Silver Sands, South View, Sunrise Beach, Sunset Point, Val Quentin, West Cove and Yellowstone.

About the County

Founded in 1944, Lac Ste. Anne County is a municipal district in central Alberta, Canada. It is located in Census Division 13, roughly 45 minutes northwest of Edmonton. The County's administrative office is located at 56521 Range Road 65. Its namesake comes from its largest body of water, Lac Ste. Anne.

Contact Information

  Box 219, Sangudo AB T0E 2A0
 lsac (@)
 (780) 785-3411
 (780) 785-2359