Function: Community & Protective Services - 02

Department: Fire Services - 040

Policy #: 009



Classification of Fire Stations

Effective Date: March 9th, 2017 Review Date: March 9th, 2022

References:

Cancel: Policy 711: Classification of Fire Stations

Resolution #: 122-17

CAO Signature: Jul Finew

Purpose: To define the classification of Fire Stations within Lac Ste. Anne

County Fire Services.

Policy Statement: A Fire Services organization means a municipality that provides

through a department, branch or other part of the municipality, fire services for that municipality or on behalf of one or more municipal authorities. Fire Services means services related to the suppression or prevention of fires, rescue and emergency services and other activities

of a Firefighter.

Scope: This policy applies to all Lac Ste. Anne County Fire Stations.

Guidelines: County Council has established one level of Fire Service within Lac

Ste. Anne County.

Fire Stations - Ste. Anne East, 3 (Rich Valley), 4 (Sangudo), 5 (Darwell), 6 (Mayerthorpe), and 7 (Cherhill) are classed as "First Responding", with training and equipment to respond to all types of emergency incidents within Lac Ste. Anne County, and to municipal partners in accordance to mutual aid and other fire agreements.

All Fire Stations must follow rules and regulations as outlined in the following manuals, policies and legislation:

- Lac Ste. Anne County Fire Services Standard Operational Guidelines and Station Orders;
- Alberta Occupational Health & Safety Act, Regulation and Code;
- Lac Ste. Anne County Occupational Health & Safety system and;
- Alberta Workers' Compensation Board legislation.